SFMA selects MiLB Sports Turf Managers of the Year

In partnership with Minor League Baseball, SFMA has been spearheading a program since 2000: the Sports Turf Manager of the Year Awards. The program is sponsored by John Deere.
Each of the 16 MiLB leagues selects a league sports turf manager winner. Those winners submit a detailed application with cultural practices, game day routine, resource utilization, staff management involvement in the industry, and photos. This year three of the four winners are repeat winners.
Award winners include:

  • Triple-A – Matt Parrott, Charlotte Knights (Charlotte, N.C.)
  • Double-A – Brock Phipps, Springfield Cardinals (Springfield, Mo.)
  • Single-A – Stephen Watson, Down East Wood Ducks (Kinston, N.C.) – 1st time winner
  • Short Season or Rookie – Ray Sayre, Gulf Coast Phillies (Clearwater, Fla.)

They will receive this top honor at the Major League Baseball Winter Meetings during the Awards Luncheon on Monday, December 10, at the Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada.