Awards Programs

SFMA offers five awards programs to provide recognition to its members for their good work and contributions to strengthening the sports field management profession. Each program has its own criterion and separate submittal form. The deadline to self-nominate or nominate someone is Oct. 15, unless otherwise noted.

The Awards Program includes:

MiLB/SFMA Sports Field Manager of the Year Minor League Baseball presents an award to a sports turf manager in each of its 16 leagues. Those 16 winners are invited to apply for the MiLB/SFMA Sports Field Manager of the Year Award, which is given in Short Season or Rookie, Single A, Double A, and Triple A. These four awards are presented annually during the Baseball Winter Meetings. To see a list of winners, click here.

Field of the Year

SFMA recognizes superior field management through the Field of the Year Program. The awards are given in football, baseball, softball, soccer and sporting grounds in three categories: professional level, college and university level, and schools and parks level. In addition to filling out an application, up to 30 photos detailing certain aspects of the field maintenance practices are required. These winners are notified of their award in November and are recognized during the SFMA annual conference in January. To find out more, click here.

Sponsored by :

Innovative Award

This award is presented to one or more exhibitors who have introduced an innovative product, service or technology that enhances the sports turf managers effectiveness or makes the field surface safer. The winner or winners are judged by a panel of sports turf managers and are announced during the first day of SFMA’s trade show, held during its annual conference. To find out more, click here.

Founders’ Awards - SFMA’s Highest Honors

SFMA’s four founders, George Toma, Dick Ericson, Dr. William Daniel and Harry Gill, each have an award named after them. The criterion for each award differs; the intent is to recognize the individual characteristics of these men in each winner. These surprise awards are announced during the Awards Banquet, held on the last day of the SFMA annual conference. To find out more, click here.

President’s Award for Leadership

This award is given by the SFMA President to an individual who has advanced the association, the profession and/or the industry. There is no set criteria or award application. The award winner is announced during the annual Awards Banquet, held on the last day of the conference. To see a list of previous winners, click here.