Six individuals to receive Young Professional Scholarship

The National Center for Spectator Sports Safety and Security (NCS4) will recognize six individuals as Young Professional Scholarship recipients during the 2023 National Sports Safety and Security Conference & Exhibition on June 27-29 in San Antonio, Texas.

The NCS4 is committed to educating the next generation of sport security professionals and recently announced the Young Professional Scholarship Program to support young professionals’ educational goals by covering the registration fee for selected individuals to the National Conference. The scholarship program is sponsored by Axis Communications.

The Young Professional Scholarship Program is designed for professionals 40 years of age or younger working in the sports and entertainment security industry. Potential candidates applied for consideration, and recipients were selected based on eligibility criteria, responses about career goals, and availability to attend the National Conference.

“We would like to thank our sponsor for this program, Axis Communications, as we work together to recognize and support young professionals in the sport security space. We look forward to connecting with them at the conference,” said Dr. Stacey A. Hall, NCS4 executive director and professor of sport management.

Recipients were representative of the following industries: professional sports and entertainment, intercollegiate athletics, and marathon and endurance events.

The 2023 Young Professional Award recipients are as follows:

  • Keenyn Bijou, manager, fan experience and security, Oilers Entertainment Group/Rogers Place
  • Jennifer Esterline, director of safety and security, Indiana State Fairgrounds and Event Center
  • Destiny Green, executive director, Route 66 Marathon
  • Tyler Hamilton, supervisor – threat management, Madison Square Garden Entertainment
  • Lauren Sjursen, manager, security operations, San Diego Padres
  • Travis Winters, associate director of safety and security, ExtraMile Arena

The post Six individuals to receive Young Professional Scholarship first appeared on SportsField Management.