Congratulations to SFMA’s 2020 “Field of the Year” Winners

Every year, SFMA presents the industry’s highest honors to members who manage baseball, football, soccer, softball and other sporting playing surfaces at the professional, collegiate, schools (K-12), and parks and recreation levels. The 2020 winners are featured below:


  • Baseball – Smokies Stadium (Sevierville, Tenn.): Eric Taylor, Head Groundskeeper
  • Soccer – New York Red Bulls Academy Field (Whippany, N.J.): Zach Holm, CSFM, Manager, RBTF Operations

College and University

  • Football – Bobby Bowden Field at Florida State University (Tallahassee, Fla.): Chris Denson, CSFM, Athletic Turf Superintendent

Schools and Parks

  • Baseball – Ray Cipperly Field at Middlesex County Vo-Tech School District (East Brunswick, N.J.): Keith Fisher, Grounds Foreman
  • Football – Walsh Field at Pace Academy Riverview Sports Complex (Mableton, Ga.): Daniel Prince, Sports Complex Facility Manager