Toma winners

Jesse Driver, CSFM
Mid-Atlantic Turf, Inc.

2022 George Toma "Golden Rake" Award Winner

Jesse Driver is President of Mid-Atlantic Turf, Inc., and is a Certified Sports Field Manager (CSFM). Jesse has consistently, throughout his career, been an SFMA member who has made significant contributions by going “above and beyond” in the Sports Field Industry both at the Association level and also in his local area for improvement of facilities for player safety, education, and industry awareness. He has been in the Sports Field industry for over twenty years providing superior athletic fields to the Mid-Atlantic area. These fields have ranged from collegiate “Field of the Year” winners, premier regional tournament facilities, high school fields, and parks and recreation fields.

Jesse, as the President of Mid-Atlantic Turf, Inc. has built or renovated over five hundred fields during his long career and known for going further than the contract requires. His goals are to provide superior natural grass athletic fields for athletes of all ages, and he is specifically requested by name throughout the industry because of his work ethic and knowledge. Throughout his career he has always gone above and beyond to volunteer to provide education to Athletic Directors and Coaches to provide improved athletic fields for their athletes. His “and then some” efforts throughout the Mid-Atlantic area are second to none and is deserving of an award to recognize his effort to improve athletic fields with a specific focus on youth opportunities.

Previous George Toma "Golden Rake" Award Recipients

Year Award Winner
2022 Jesse Driver, CSFM, Mid-Atlantic Turf, Inc.
2021 Steve Bush, CSFM, CFB, Bush Sports Turf (IL) (awarded posthumously)
2020 Tim Van Loo, CSFM, Iowa State
2019 Kim Heck, CAE, Sports Turf Managers Association
2018 Abby McNeal, CSFM, CPRP, Denver City and County Parks Department (CO)
2017 Dan Bergstrom, CSFM, BBVA Compass Stadium
2016 Bruce Suddeth, University of South Carolina Upstate (SC)
2015 Ben Polimer, Town of Weston (MA)
2014 Mike Albino, Ballard Sports, Syracuse (NY)
2013 Matt Tobin, Pioneer Athletics, Saco (ME)
2012 Michael Boettcher, Milwaukee Brewers Baseball Club, Milwaukee (WI)
2011 Tom Nielsen, Louisville Bats Baseball Club, Louisville (KY)
2010 Mel Lanford, Retired from University of Texas, Austin (TX)
2009 Craig Potts, Texas A&M University, College Station (TX)
2008 David Reiss, Wasatch County School District, Heber City (UT)
2007 Tony Diaz, Waukegan Park District (IL)
2006 Todd Jeansonne, Louisiana State University and Jeff Kershaw, West Baton Rouge Parrish School
2005 Jim Wiggins, Tomball ISD, Tomball (TX)
2004 Kevin Meredith, National Soccer Hall of Fame (NY)
2003 James Crawford, McFarland Schools (WI)
2002 Jesse Cuevas, Rosenblatt Stadium (NE)
2001 Terry Nance, Cape Fear High School (NC)
2000 Connie Rudolph, CSFM, Midway Stadium (MN)
1999 Boyd (Rob) Montgomery, Sylvania Recreation (OH)
1998 Don Kelly, City of Rocky River (OH)
1997 Timothy Burke, Town of Bethel (CT)

* Facility listed is where employed at time of award. Check Directory for current listing