SFMA membership elects board for 2021

In late November and early December, the SFMA membership voted for its 2021 leadership. The results were announced during the SFMA virtual conference at the Annual Meeting/Awards banquet on January 13. Nine members were elected to the board, two board members are returning to fulfill the second year of their two-year terms, and 2021 President Nick McKenna, CSFM, made two appointments. One is to fill the Director At-Large Appointed position and the other is to fill the Parks and Rec Director position vacated by Brad Thedens, CSFM, when he ran for Secretary/Treasurer.

The 13-person board has representation from all voting categories of membership: schools k-12, parks and recreation, professional stadiums, academia, higher education and commercial. Those elected include:


Nick McKenna, CSFM, Asst. Athletic Field Maintenance Mgr., Texas A&M Athletics, College Station, TX

Immediate Past President

Jimmy Simpson, CSFM, Facilities Coordinator, Town of Cary, Cary, NC


James Bergdoll, CSFM, Director of Parks Maintenance, City of Chattanooga Public Works, Chattanooga, TN 


Sun Roesslein, CSFM, Sports Stadium Manager, North Area Athletic Complex – Jeffco Schools, Golden, CO 

Vice President – Commercial

Jeremy Bohonko, Regional Manager, Ewing Irrigation and Landscape Supply, Charlotte, NC 

Director – Schools K-12

Jeremy Driscoll, Grounds Supervisor, St. Mark’s High School, Wilmington, DE 

Director – Professional Facilities

Nicole Sherry, Head Groundskeeper, Baltimore Orioles, Baltimore, MD 

Director – Commercial

Paula Sliefert, Sr. Marketing Manager, The Toro Company, Bloomington, MN 

Director – At Large Elected

Scott Thompson, CSFM, Superintendent of Sports Fields and Grounds, Duke University, Durham, NC 

During the SFMA Annual Meeting, President McKenna made the following appointments that included appointing Brad Thedens back to Director – Parks and Recreation to finish out the term.

Director – At Large Appointed

Alpha Jones, CSFM, Director of Field Operations, Fayetteville Woodpeckers, Fayetteville, NC 

Director – Parks and Recreation

Brad Thedens, CSFM, Park Caretaker, City of Sioux Falls Park and Rec, Sioux Falls, SD 

Two board members are serving the second year of their two-year term and were not up for election. They are:

Director – Higher Education

Clark Cox, CSFM, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC 

Director – Academic

Adam Thoms, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 

The post SFMA membership elects board for 2021 first appeared on SportsField Management.