Irrigation Association awards scholarships to 17 students

The Irrigation Association announced the recipients of the 2024 Anthony W. “Tony” LaFetra Scholarship Program, sponsored by Rain Bird. In its eighth year, the program awarded 17 scholarships to deserving recipients studying and pursuing careers in the irrigation field.

The 17 students are from colleges and universities around the United States and are enrolled in associate to graduate programs with an irrigation focus. The scholarships, ranging from $1,000 to $3,000, were awarded to students who have shown a passion in water stewardship and the essential contributions irrigated landscapes and irrigated agriculture have in improving the quality of life through a reliable global food supply and vital green spaces.

In 2024, Ashley Beazer and Anna Davis were recognized as the 2024 Anthony W. “Tony” LaFetra scholars, a special designation awarded to the top two winners each year.

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2024 Anthony W. “Tony” LaFetra Scholarship Program:

  • Ashley Beazer – Brigham Young University, Anthony W. “Tony” LaFetra Scholar
  • Anna Davis – North Carolina State University, Anthony W. “Tony” LaFetra Scholar
  • Mia Apps – University of Idaho
  • Joseph Daniels – Brigham Young University
  • Gabrielle Fernandez – Cuyahoga Community College
  • Baylee Gagnier – Three Rivers Ct State Community College
  • Siena Giddens – Saddleback College
  • Nathan Hawks – Michigan State University
  • Lauren Kasel – Texas A&M University
  • Bailey Kuhn – University of Wisconsin River Falls
  • Tyler Langer – College of Southern Idaho
  • Angel Lopez – California Polytechnic State University San Luis Obispo
  • Katie Marra – Rutgers New Brunswick
  • Luis Mazariegos – College of DuPage
  • Jake Miller – The Ohio State University
  • Anthony Scarpitti – Oklahoma State University
  • Breanna Selsor – Iowa State University

“These exceptional students represent the future leaders and innovators of our industry, and we are proud to support their educational journey toward becoming the experts that will shape the future of water use and management,” said IA CEO Natasha Rankin, MBA, CAE. “This scholarship program is a testament to the IA’s dedication to fostering the training and development of a professional, skilled workforce. By investing in these talented individuals, we are not only enhancing their educational experiences but also ensuring the continued growth and excellence of our industry.”

Since the program’s inception in 2016, 142 students have been awarded scholarships.

The post Irrigation Association awards scholarships to 17 students appeared first on SportsField Management.