Irrigation Association awards 22 scholarships to students around the nation

The Irrigation Association announced the winners of its 2020 scholarship program. In its fourth year, the program awarded 22 scholarships to deserving recipients studying and pursuing careers in the irrigation field.

The 22 students are from colleges and universities around the nation and are enrolled in associate to graduate programs with an irrigation focus. All of the recipients have a passion for irrigation and are well on their way to a career in the irrigation industry.

The scholarships, ranging from $1,000 to $2,500, were awarded based on the candidate’s letter of intent, financial need, resume, list of irrigation courses and letters of reference. The annual program, started in 2016, has awarded 79 students since inception.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2020 Irrigation Association scholarship program:

  • Zoe Amerigian – Texas A&M University
  • Aspen Barker – Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
  • Kelby Biswell – University of Arkansas
  • Alejandra Celio – Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo
  • Katrina Coyan – Kansas State University
  • Killian Delaney – Southeast Missouri State University
  • Kolton Dickinson – Kansas State University
  • Kyle Esquer – Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo
  • Thomas Gabel – The Pennsylvania State University
  • Nicole Guise – The Pennsylvania State University
  • Derek Herbst – Brigham Young University
  • Tai-Renee King – Cuyahoga Community College
  • Kacie Melville – Oregon State University
  • Ignacio Moreno – Cal Poly, Pomona
  • Renee Murphy – Cal Poly, Pomona
  • Mariah Porfily – Eastern Oregon State University
  • Suzee Ramirez – Saddleback College
  • Kaleb Roberson – Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo
  • Benjamin Rowley – Brigham Young University-Idaho
  • Carlton Squire – Snow College
  • Erik Van Dyke – Yakima Valley College
  • Christine Villa – Saddleback College

The 2021 scholarship program will open this fall with a deadline of Feb. 15, 2021. To learn more about program requirements and the application process, visit www.irrigation.org/scholarships.