Gill Winners

2022 Harry C. Gill Founders Award

Chad Price, CSFM, CFB
Carolina Green Corp.

Chad has over 30 years in the sports field construction industry. He has been involved in the design and construction of over 500 fields at the professional, semi-pro, university, municipal, private and public-school level. He is the recipient of the 2009 Washington Building Congress Craftsmanship Award for his work on the Washington Nationals Ballpark.

Chad is Chairman of The SAFE Foundation board of directors (Safer Athletic Fields for Everyone) which is a research and scholarship program within the Sports Field Management Association (SFMA). Chad holds a BS in Agronomy from Virginia Tech and is a Certified Sports Field Manager (CSFM), a Certified Field Builder (CFB), and a NC Certified Turfgrass Professional. He is a licensed GC and Irrigation Contractor.

Previous Harry C. Gill Founders Award Recipients

Year Award Winner
2022 Chad Price, CSFM, CFB, Carolina Green Corp.
2021 Doug Schattinger, Pioneer Athletics (OH)
2020 Abby McNeal, CSFM City and County of Denver Parks
2019 Troy Smith, CSFM Ewing Irrigation
2018 Jeff Fowler, Penn State University Senior Extension (PA)
2017 Tim Moore, GCA Services
2016 Darian Daily (awarded posthumously), Cincinnati Bengals (OH)
2015 Michael Goatley, Ph.D., Virginia Tech University (VA)
2014 Andrew McNitt, Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University (PA)
2013 Bucky Trotter, Sports Facilities Insights (KY)
2012 Richard Moffitt, Moffitt & Associates (MO)
2011 Mike Andresen, CSFM, Iowa State University (IA)
2010 Leo Goertz, Texas A&M University (TX) (deceased)
2009 Tom Burns, Diamond Pro/TXI (TX)
2008 Bob Campbell, CSFM, University of Tennessee (TN)
2007 Bob Curry, Covermaster, Inc. (Ontario, Canada)
2006 Boyd R. Montgomery, CSFM, The Toro Company (MN)
2005 Bob Christofferson, Seattle Mariners, (WA)
2004 Lynda Wightman, Hunter Industries (CT)
2003 Ken Mrock, Chicago Bears Football Club (IL)
2002 Ross Kurcab, CSFM, Invesco Field at Mile High (CO)
2001 Dan Douglas, Reading Phillies (PA)
2000 Mary Owen, University of Massachusetts – Extension (MA)
1999 *Dale Getz, University of Notre Dame (IN)
1998 John Souter, Turfgrass Consultant, Perthshire, Scotland
1997 *Eugene Mayer, The Scotts Company
1996 Greg Petry, Waukegan Park District (IL)
1995 Gil Landry, Ph.D., University of Georgia (GA)
1994 Henry Indyk, Ph.D., (deceased), Turfcon (NJ)
1993 *Mike Schiller, Schaumburg Park District (IL)
1992 George Toma, Kansas City Royals & NFL (MO)
1991 James Watson, Ph.D., The Toro Company (CO)
1990 *David Frey, Cleveland Stadium (OH)
1989 *David Frey, Cleveland Stadium (OH)
1987 *Mark Hodnick, Cal Poly Pomona (CA)
1986 Kent W. Kurtz, Ph.D., (deceased) Cal Poly Pomona (CA)
1985 Anthony Burnett, RFK Stadium (DC)
1984 *Steve Wightman, Mile High Stadium (CO)
1983 William H. Daniel Ph.D., (deceased) Purdue University (IN)
1982 Harry C. Gill, (deceased), Milwaukee County Stadium (WI)

* Facility listed is where employed at time of award. Check Directory for current listing